Model assessment · Dreo

Dreo HM306 3L Humidifier review

3-liter standard-control ultrasonic cool-mist humidifier with top refill, touch controls, a humidity display and an aroma-pad tray; distinct from connected HM306S.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

White Dreo HM306 standard 3L humidifier with a translucent tank and front humidity display
Official Dreo gallery image of the white standard HM306 / DR-HHM006. The manufacturer does not specify whether the product image is a photograph or render. Dreo official HM306 3L product gallery
A useful fit for

For someone seeking a current U.S. 3 L top-fill ultrasonic cool-mist unit with touch/display controls and an on-device Auto response, who wants the standard app-free arrangement and can manage frequent water care.

The main tradeoff

The standard HM306 is compact and app-free, but its 3 L tank is much smaller than Dreo's 6 L HM524, the 300 sq ft/30-hour/250 mL/h figures are maker claims, and the numeric Auto target range, timer, exact cleaning interval and manual-linked clearance dimensions remain unconfirmed. It does not make warm mist.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would a 3-liter reservoir meet your minimum, or do you need more water capacity?

Dreo identifies this standard HM306 listing as a 3 L humidifier; this number is capacity, not a guaranteed runtime.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want on-device operation without app or network control?

Dreo labels this configuration Standard and identifies it as DR-HHM006; the app-connected Humidifier 306S / DR-HHM006S is a separate listing.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a selectable humidity Auto response useful, even if the exact numeric target range is not established?

Dreo's U.S. product FAQ says Auto stops adding moisture when the room reaches its humidity target; the precise HM306 setting range is not stated there.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a maker-stated upper room figure of 300 square feet enough for your plan?

Dreo lists up to 300 sq ft; it is a manufacturer claim rather than a guarantee for an irregular or open-plan room.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require heated warm mist, or is cool mist sufficient?

Dreo's HM306 page identifies an ultrasonic cool-mist unit; no warm-mist operating mode is listed.

Explore this need in the finder →

Dreo’s HM306 is the standard, 3-liter version of the Humidifier 306. It is an ultrasonic cool-mist unit with touch controls and a humidity display; the useful distinction is that this configuration does not require the Dreo app. It is not the separate Smart Humidifier 306S, even though the bodies and capacities look similar.

Standard controls are the point of this version

The U.S. product page calls this model “Humidifier 306 3L,” and Dreo’s support catalog identifies the standard version as DR-HHM006. The linked Shopify record has White SKU 10-160061-001, Grey 10-16006-181, Black 10-16006-101 and Blue 10-16006-152. Those are finish variants of the same reviewed operating plan; color does not establish a different mist or control capability. Dreo separately lists the 306S / DR-HHM006S with Smart WiFi, so do not use an S-model listing when a no-network requirement matters.

The HM306 is a small, top-fill ultrasonic humidifier. Dreo lists a 3-liter tank, touch control and an up-front humidity display. Its FAQ describes an Auto mode that stops adding moisture when the room reaches its target, but the U.S. material does not establish a numeric target range or how the standard model selects that target. It is reasonable to ask whether you need sensor response; it is not reasonable to promise a particular percentage setting from this page alone. The current material also does not establish a handset or an appliance timer.

Capacity and room claims need context

Dreo states an upper area figure of 300 square feet and output up to 250 mL per hour. Treat both as manufacturer claims, not a guarantee that every room shape or doorway will reach the same humidity. A 3-liter tank is also a capacity, not a runtime. The maker’s “up to 30 hours” is explicitly associated with Sleep mode; warmer, drier conditions and stronger output can use water faster. If you need to run for long stretches with fewer refills, compare Dreo’s 6-liter standard HM524 instead. That changes the carrying and cleaning burden, so a larger tank is only an advantage if you are comfortable lifting and caring for it.

The listed dimensions appear on Dreo’s page as 7.6 inches deep by 10.2 wide by 7.6 high. Because the exact installed clearance and lifting space are not explained in the same source, use the full product diagram or measure the actual model before deciding that it fits below a shelf. Leave room to refill and keep mist from wetting nearby surfaces, electronics or furniture.

Water and upkeep are part of choosing it

Ultrasonic mist does not remove minerals from the water first. Dreo explains that hard-water minerals can be carried with the mist and leave a white film, and it recommends purified or distilled water to reduce scale. That advice does not replace regular emptying and cleaning. The product FAQ calls for regular descaling and cleaning of the tank and base, but the exact HM306 cleaning interval is not posted with the model-specific support record. Use the instructions supplied with the precise finish/SKU rather than borrowing the HM306S manual’s schedule.

Dreo shows a separate aroma tray/pad and says to replace the pad, but it warns that putting essential oil directly into the water tank can damage it. Keep the water path and scent route separate, and follow the exact booklet for the pad. The exact HM306 listing is cool-mist only; choose another model if heated warm mist is essential. Dreo’s page says it shuts down automatically at low water, but that safeguard is not a reason to leave stagnant water or skip routine care.

Which Dreo 306 fits your answers?

Choose the HM306S 3L Smart Humidifier if app or voice settings are essential and you accept network setup. Choose this HM306 when you want on-device controls without app control. Both are listed at 3 liters and the same 300-square-foot upper area; neither figure proves how a particular room will perform. A custom numeric target is not a confirmed reason to prefer this standard model: the Auto stop is documented, but its exact selectable range is not. If timer-based shutoff is essential, compare a model whose exact instructions identify timer intervals, such as the standard HM524.

Overall, the HM306 is most defensible for a compact room plan where a 3-liter top-fill unit, local touch/display control and cool mist are enough. Its maker-stated output and area give you a starting point, not measured room performance. The standard/S split, water choice and care routine matter more than the similar product names; check the exact model code and supplied guide before buying or setting up a listing.

Model sources: Dreo’s Humidifier 306 3L product page and its humidifier support directory, which identifies standard DR-HHM006 separately from DR-HHM006S.

Key details at a glance

Water-tank capacity3 L
Water-tank capacity0.79 US gal
Maker-stated room-area range300 sq ft maximum
Maker-stated runtime wordingDreo lists up to 30 hours in Sleep mode; this is not a setting-independent runtime guarantee.
Top-fill designYes
On-device controlsOn-device buttons and display
Automatic humidity adjustmentYes
Phone app controlNo
Manufacturer-documented oil routeSeparate aroma pad
Essential oils permitted in the water tank by this manualNo
Separate aroma-pad routeYes
Listed appliance weight2.71 lb
Heated warm-mist modeNo
Manufacturer-listed dimensions (axis order not labeled)Dreo prints 7.6 in D × 10.2 in W × 7.6 in H; the model's exact clearance dimensions are not used for height matching because that page string is not adequate confirmation of the usable installed height.
Humidification methodUltrasonic

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Manufacturer noise claim

Dreo lists 26 dB; this is a manufacturer claim, not an independent measurement.

Water and care limits

Dreo's U.S. FAQ says hard-water minerals can leave white residue and recommends regular descaling and purified or distilled water to reduce scale. It says change water regularly, clean the tank and base chamber and use a separate aroma-pad tray; it warns that adding essential oil directly to the tank can damage it. An exact HM306 manual cleaning interval was not linked in the inspected support record, so no weekly/monthly schedule is asserted.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the real routine.

Compare water capacity, fill design, humidity controls and the care instructions for the exact model.