Model assessment · Dreo

Dreo Humidifier 311S 4L review

Current Dreo 4 L top-fill Smart Humidifier 311S (2nd Gen.), support model DR-HHM021S, with Auto target control, app/voice setup, customizable RGB lighting and an aroma pad. Its manual confirms 30–90% selectable targets in 5-point steps, but warns against running the unit in rooms above 60% RH. Room area, noise and mist technology remain unlisted.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Dreo Humidifier 311S with transparent water reservoir, upper fill opening and front display
Official Dreo Black finish variant for SKU 10-160211-002, archived as a source variant and not used in place of the White main display image. Photo versus render status is unknown. Dreo — official Humidifier 311S Black gallery image
A useful fit for

For a top-fill 4 L smart humidifier with documented app/voice and on-device control, a selected humidity cutoff, customizable RGB lighting and aroma-pad use. Its area rating, noise level and humidification technology are not stated; follow the manual’s warning not to operate above 60% room RH.

The main tradeoff

The 40-hour maximum is not tied to an output setting. The manual adds a 30–90% target in five-point steps, app/Alexa/Google control and care instructions, but no room-area, noise or humidification-method claim; its target range comes with a warning not to operate above 60% RH. The timer icon does not establish an on-device timer setting.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need at least four liters of tank capacity?

The current sales record lists 4 L; the support manual identifies DR-HHM021S and adds target/App details but does not change the capacity claim. Capacity is not a refill interval.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does top filling matter, or do you specifically require a bottom-fill tank?

Dreo describes the current listing as top-fill. The DR-HHM021S manual shows the top-access tank, but does not establish bottom-fill.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need confirmed app control of the appliance rather than app-adjusted lighting alone?

The exact DR-HHM021S manual documents Dreo-app control of the appliance, setup with Alexa/Google Home, and local controls. It is distinct from the older HM311S / DR-HHM001S manual. Choose yes only if the current 311S (2nd Gen.) code/title fits your exact listing.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a four-liter tank and a selectable humidity cutoff in one plan?

The DR-HHM021S guide confirms a 30–90% target in five-point steps and the current 311S record lists a 4 L tank. Its manual warns against operating the unit in a room above 60% RH, so use that caution rather than treating 90% as an everyday target.

Explore this need in the finder →

The current Dreo Humidifier 311S is a four-liter top-fill model whose matching official support entry calls it Smart 311S (2nd Gen.), model DR-HHM021S. Its U.S. manual confirms device/app control, a selectable humidity target and a separate aroma pad, improving on what the sales page alone establishes. Dreo still gives no room-area or noise claim and does not identify the mist technology. The page’s “up to 40 hours” is a maximum claim without a stated setting, not a refill schedule.

A useful capacity, with a runtime caveat

A four-liter reservoir is a middle-ground size: it holds more than a bedside mini unit without being a large console tank. Dreo advertises up to 40 hours between fills. Treat that as a best-case maximum, not the expected interval at every output. The same page lists a 100–250 mL/h humidification range; if a unit used water at the upper published rate continuously, four liters would theoretically last about 16 hours. That simple capacity/output relationship explains why a maximum runtime should not be read as a fixed daily refill schedule. The maker does not state the setting or test conditions behind 40 hours.

The top-fill label is practical if lifting and inverting a tank is inconvenient. It avoids that particular handling step, but does not make the water path self-cleaning or establish that parts are dishwasher-safe. The DR-HHM021S guide says to use purified or distilled water to help prevent mineral residue, unplug before cleaning, keep water off the powered body and descale monthly. It also recommends a weekly rinse for the separate aroma-pad tray. That is a recurring care schedule worth accepting before purchase, not an occasional wipe; follow the guide’s complete cleaning sequence.

Auto mode and the light feature

Dreo describes ±5% humidity control and humidity indicators. The exact DR-HHM021S guide says you can select a target between 30% and 90% in five-point steps; Auto adjusts to the chosen target and stops adding moisture when it is reached. The same manual cautions against operating the appliance in a room above 60% relative humidity. A high setpoint is selectable, but I would not treat the top of that range as an appropriate everyday target when the guide gives that warning. The claimed ±5% precision is a maker specification, not a room-wide accuracy test.

The guide confirms control through the Dreo app and setup for Alexa or Google Home, alongside local touch controls. Dreo’s listing calls out more than 1,500 customizable RGB light choices in the app; that is useful if color is welcome, but it is not a substitute for a humidity reading elsewhere in the room. A timer icon appears on the display, but the model-specific manual does not explain a physical timer-setting routine or its range, so an essential on-device timer remains unconfirmed. The manual does not document a handheld remote.

Aroma and mineral-control accessories

The 311S page lists one aroma pad in the box; essential oil is not included. The manual shows the pad tray separately from the water path, says to use only that tray, and gives a five-to-ten-drop amount. It explicitly says not to put oil in the tank or elsewhere in the base. The page also names optional demineralization or clean-mist cartridges, sold separately; check the exact current cartridge instructions rather than treating it as a substitute for regular cleaning.

What the available details don’t settle

The current page does not state an area rating, sound level, dimensions, or whether this is ultrasonic, evaporative, or another configuration. Those unknowns matter more than the light count if you need quiet bedroom use, a specific mist type, a defined room-size claim or a height limit. In the finder, this model can satisfy a four-liter minimum and top-fill requirement, but unknown method, noise and size facts will not satisfy essential filters for those capabilities.

Dreo’s support site now distinguishes this second-generation Smart 311S / DR-HHM021S from the older Smart HM311S / DR-HHM001S. The current shop record lists White 10-160211-001 and Black 10-160211-002; it does not print the DR code, so match the appliance label and support-page title when asking about care or parts. Do not borrow the older HM311S manual or cartridge compatibility merely because its name and tank size look similar.

Who should shortlist it?

Consider the 311S if a top-fill four-liter appliance, selectable target, app/device control and an aroma pad fit your routine—and if you can accept that its room coverage, noise and mist method are not established. It is a poor fit when a particular technology, a proven low-noise claim, a defined room-area rating, an included handset, or a documented physical timer is non-negotiable. Keep a reasonable target within the manual’s stated operating caution.

For buyers who want a documented smart 4-liter model, compare the separately reviewed HM311S rather than assuming it is interchangeable with this listing; its manual and specification record are different. For larger reservoirs or a stated room-area claim, compare Dreo’s 735S or 774S, while keeping their distinct operating methods and care routines in view. None of the manufacturer’s coverage or runtime claims guarantees the same result in every room. Measure the space, use a separate hygrometer if accurate room readings matter, and plan regular cleaning before choosing.

Key details at a glance

Water-tank capacity4 L
Water-tank capacity1.06 US gal
Maker-stated runtime wordingDreo claims up to 40 hours; the exact manual does not specify the setting or conditions behind the maximum.
Top-fill designYes
On-device controlsOn-device buttons and display
Automatic humidity adjustmentYes
Phone app controlYes
Manufacturer-documented oil routeSeparate aroma pad
Essential oils permitted in the water tank by this manualNo
Separate aroma-pad routeYes
Selectable humidistat targetYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Manufacturer cleaning interval

Descale monthly and rinse the aroma-pad tray weekly per DR-HHM021S U.S. manual.

Water and care limits

Use purified/distilled water to help reduce scale; unplug before cleaning and keep water off the powered body. The manual recommends at least 30 cm from walls, oil only on the separate aroma pad (5–10 drops), no essential oil in tank/base, monthly descaling and weekly aroma-tray rinsing; follow the full instructions.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the real routine.

Compare water capacity, fill design, humidity controls and the care instructions for the exact model.