Model assessment · Dreo

Dreo Humidifier 311 4L Ultrasonic Dual-Mist Humidifier review

Current U.S. 4 L top-fill ultrasonic humidifier whose sales page claims selectable cool/warm output, 300 ft², on-device Auto and a 30–90% target. Official support identifies the Standard 311 (2nd Gen.) as DR-HHM021 and supplies its manual; the manual documents a 30–90% target in 5-point steps and a 0–12-hour timer, but not a warm-mist selector. The page also conflicts on maximum runtime.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Dreo Humidifier 311 with translucent 4-liter tank and front humidity display
Official Dreo gallery image for Humidifier 311 Black SKU 10-160011-024. Dreo does not identify the image as a photograph rather than a product render. Dreo official Humidifier 311 Black product gallery
A useful fit for

For someone who wants a 4 L top-fill ultrasonic unit with maker-listed cool/warm output, on-device Auto, a selectable 30–90% target in 5-point steps and a 0–12 h timer. The exact manual warns against operation in rooms above 60% RH and does not explain a warm-mode selector.

The main tradeoff

The current U.S. listing conflicts on 36- versus 40-hour maximum runtime and does not split output by mode. Dreo support identifies the 311 (2nd Gen.) manual DR-HHM021, but the shop record does not print the code and the manual does not describe the listing’s warm-mist mode. App control is not documented for the standard version.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can I require ultrasonic warm mist with an adjustable humidity target?

The exact U.S. sales page lists cool and warm output, ultrasonic atomization and a 30–90% target. The DR-HHM021 support manual confirms selectable 30–90% targets in 5-point steps, but also warns not to run the unit in rooms above 60% RH and does not explain warm-mode selection; treat the warm claim as a documentation gap.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the 311 meet a 300-square-foot maker-area threshold?

Dreo rates the exact Humidifier 311 page at 300 ft². That is a manufacturer claim, not a guarantee for every room; a higher threshold is not documented for this model.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is app control documented if it is essential to me?

The standard DR-HHM021 manual describes physical controls and does not document app operation. The sales page does not establish app control for this exact standard listing, so it cannot satisfy an essential app-control requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →

Dreo’s current Humidifier 311 is a 4-liter, top-fill ultrasonic model whose U.S. page claims selectable cool and warm mist, an on-device humidity target and a separate aroma pad. Dreo support identifies a Standard Humidifier 311 (2nd Gen.), model DR-HHM021, and links a U.S. user manual; its target, timer and care instructions are useful here. There is still a documentation mismatch: that manual does not explain a warm-mist control, while the sales page advertises warm output. Runtime also conflicts between 36 and 40 hours. Treat seller claims as specifications, not tested performance.

A four-liter tank with a room-size ceiling

The current U.S. product record identifies the appliance as Humidifier 311 and offers Black and White finish variants. It lists a 4-liter reservoir and a top-fill design, so filling does not require turning a heavy tank upside down. Dreo’s FAQ still calls for regular descaling and distinguishes the tank from the base.

Dreo rates the 311 for 300 square feet and 100–250 mL per hour of humidification output. Treat the area as a maker rating, not a room-performance guarantee. Doorways, outside air, room temperature and placement all affect the result. If your room is substantially larger than the stated area, a higher-output model is a more sensible comparison than assuming the 4-liter capacity will carry the unit through a bigger space.

Runtime needs a special caveat. A feature line says “40H Max Runtime,” while the specification table says “Max 36H.” Neither figure includes conditions or a mode-specific setting. Because the current page does not reconcile those values, I would not use either as a refill schedule. The listed 100–250 mL/h range also means output choice matters: the owner’s actual refill pattern can differ sharply from a headline maximum.

Choose cool or warm mist, not both at once

The specification table names ultrasonic atomization at 2.4 MHz and lists both cool- and warm-mist output, with three mist levels. That makes the 311 unusual among compact humidifiers: Dreo describes a choice of cool or warm operation rather than a single output type. It gives a 300-square-foot maker area and 100–250 mL/h range, but does not divide that output by mode.

The official support page identifies a Standard 311 (2nd Gen.) as DR-HHM021 and links a U.S. guide. Its control-panel directions describe low, medium or high manual mist and Auto, but do not explain a warm-mist selector or warm-mode precautions. The page’s current 311 SKU record does not print the DR-HHM021 code, so the crosswalk is based on the matching 311 title and support image rather than an explicit SKU-to-code table. If warm mist is essential, treat it as a maker-listed feature with a real documentation gap: ask Dreo how to select that mode on the exact 10-160011 unit and follow the instructions supplied with it. I would not infer a safe touch distance or cool-down time from another 311 model.

On-unit humidity control and an aromatic pad

Dreo lists four touch controls for power, mist level, Auto and night light. The DR-HHM021 guide describes a selectable 30–90% target in five-point steps and says Auto stops adding moisture when the target is reached. The same manual warns against running the appliance in a room already above 60% relative humidity. The control can be set higher, but that does not make a high-humidity routine a sensible operating plan; use the manual’s warning as a ceiling and verify conditions away from the machine if room humidity matters.

The guide also documents an on-device timer from zero to 12 hours, entered through a long press in Auto mode. That is more specific than the sales page, which names a timer but omits its range. The exact standard support record does not document app or handset control, so app-essential shopping should not count the 311 as a confirmed match. Its aroma feature uses a separate pad; the manual specifies five to ten drops on that pad and says not to put oil in the water tank. A pad is the suitable route only when that is what you need.

Water and upkeep are part of the choice

Dreo’s FAQ recommends purified or distilled water to help limit scale. The exact manual adds a monthly descaling routine and a weekly rinse for the aroma tray; it also says to unplug before cleaning, keep water off the powered body and avoid chemicals outside the described procedure. The manual’s descaling steps specify their own bleach dilution and contact time, so follow that sequence rather than improvising. This is a regular water-path chore, not a quick exterior wipe. Dreo lists two optional HPA020 filters—an antibacterial filter and a resin filter—but the page does not establish that either replaces cleaning. The included brush helps with narrow areas.

Dreo lists 21 dB and 26 W, without sound-test conditions. Treat them as maker specifications, not measured silence or a daily energy estimate.

Who should shortlist it?

The Humidifier 311 makes sense when a top-fill 4-liter tank, a stated 300-square-foot maker area, on-device Auto control and selectable humidity cutoff fit your routine. The manual’s five-point target increments and 12-hour on-device timer are concrete advantages over a basic mist dial. The 30–90% controls must be read alongside the manual’s warning not to run it above 60% room humidity. It is a weaker choice if a fully explained warm-mist mode, a reconciled runtime, mode-specific output, app control or coverage above the maker’s 300-square-foot claim is essential.

Check the finish and SKU on the offer: the product record lists Black SKU 10-160011-024 and White SKU 10-160011-023. Those are finish variants of the same reviewed 311 configuration, not separate operating plans. For a documented larger cool-mist option, compare the standard HM524; for an app-connected 4-liter listing, compare Dreo’s separately assessed HM311S or the current Humidifier 311S. Their similar names do not establish interchangeable controls, manuals or accessory fit. The exact label matters more than the shared number.

Key details at a glance

Water-tank capacity4 L
Water-tank capacity1.06 US gal
Maker-stated room-area range300 sq ft maximum
Maker-stated runtime wordingFeature line says up to 40 h; the specification table says max 36 h. Conditions are not stated and the conflict is unresolved.
Top-fill designYes
Built-in timerTimer listed; duration/range not stated.
On-device controlsOn-device buttons and display
Automatic humidity adjustmentYes
Manufacturer-documented oil routeSeparate aroma pad
Essential oils permitted in the water tank by this manualNo
Separate aroma-pad routeYes
Heated warm-mist modeYes
Listed power rating26 W
Humidification methodUltrasonic
Selectable humidistat targetYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Manufacturer noise claim

Dreo lists 21 dB; mode, distance and test conditions are not stated.

Manufacturer cleaning interval

Descale monthly and rinse the aroma-pad tray weekly per the DR-HHM021 U.S. manual.

Water and care limits

The exact support manual says to use purified/distilled water to limit scale, unplug before cleaning, keep water off the powered body, place at least 30 cm from walls, add oil only to the separate aroma pad (5–10 drops), and not put oil in the water tank. It describes monthly descaling and weekly aroma-tray rinsing; follow its full sequence.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the real routine.

Compare water capacity, fill design, humidity controls and the care instructions for the exact model.