Model assessment · Crane

Crane EE-6913 Top-Fill Warm & Cool Mist Humidifier review

A top-fill ultrasonic warm/cool unit with selectable humidity control, Auto output adjustment, a 1–12-hour timer, remote and a separate aroma-pad tray. A major specification is unresolved: the exact page title says 1.2 gallons and its older 2021 manual says 1.2 gallons, while the newer linked 2025 black-unit manual says 1 gallon / 4 liters. Neither value should satisfy a hard tank-size requirement until an offered revision is confirmed.

Sources checked 2026-10-26 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Crane Warm Cool Top Fill Ee6913 full-unit humidifier as shown on the exact Crane USA product page.

Crane EE-6913 exact full-unit product-page image; photo/render status unspecified. Crane does not state whether the image is a photograph or a render.

Image source and model notes
Crane EE-6913 exact full-unit product-page image; photo/render status unspecified. Crane does not state whether the image is a photograph or a render. Crane EE-6913 exact full-unit product-page image; photo/render status unspecified.
A useful fit for

A fit if you want both cool and heated mist, a selectable humidity target, remote operation and a separate aroma tray in one appliance. The newer manual’s 40–80% range and Auto behavior are more useful for control decisions than its unresolved tank capacity. The maker’s up-to-500-square-foot and up-to-24-hour figures are upper claims, not guarantees, and the warm-mist path needs time to heat before the output feels warm.

The main tradeoff

Do not buy it based on a 1.2-gallon capacity until the exact offer revision is confirmed: Crane’s current page title and 2021 manual say 1.2 gallons, but the newer page-linked 2025 manual says 1 gallon / 4 L. The manuals also describe different humidity modes; this review uses the newer guide for the current plan and does not carry forward its older Baby/UV/Ionizer functions. Oils belong on the included aroma pad, never in the tank. The newer guide’s HEPA part filters air moving through the appliance and is expressly not a room air purifier. Daily emptying, weekly vinegar cleaning and periodic ceramic-filter care are part of ownership.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is heated warm mist required alongside a supported ultrasonic plan?

The newer linked 2025 manual identifies both warm and cool ultrasonic mist.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require Automatic response and a selectable upper humidity target of at least 75%?

The newer manual describes Auto and a 40–80% target range in 5% increments.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can an unconfirmed capacity satisfy a strict 4.1 L minimum?

Capacity differs across the page and linked manuals; an optional tank limit may be left open, but a required minimum must not be treated as satisfied.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a separate oil pad rather than tank additives?

The newer manual gives an aroma tray and prohibits essential oils in the tank or base.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a physical remote needed, while app control is not?

The exact model manual identifies an included remote that mirrors panel functions; no app control is documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can an unknown warm-mist output rate meet your numeric minimum?

The manual states warm-up time and nozzle temperature but no mL/h warm-mist rate. The exact numeric output remains unknown and cannot satisfy the requested minimum.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Crane EE-6913 combines top-fill ultrasonic cool and warm mist, a selectable humidity target, Auto output adjustment, a one-to-twelve-hour timer, handheld remote and a separate aroma-pad tray. Its useful difference from a cool-only model is not just heat: the newer linked manual describes both a 40–80% target mode and output that changes with room humidity. Its tank capacity, however, cannot be treated as settled. Crane’s exact page title and 2021 manual say 1.2 gallons; the newer 2025 black-unit manual says 1 gallon / 4 liters.

Warm and cool operation with a choice of control modes

The EE-6913 starts in manual mode. You can choose among three mist levels, turn on warm mist, use the timer, or select Auto. In the newer 2025 manual, Auto changes output according to the reported humidity: high below 45%, medium from 46–65%, low from 66–80%, then off above 80%. A separate humidity mode lets you choose 40–80% in five-point increments and cycles mist when humidity drops below your selected threshold. The manual describes a built-in reading and an operating response; it is not an independent humidity sensor calibration certificate or a promise of uniform conditions across the room.

Warm mist takes time: Crane says to allow about 20–30 minutes for the output to warm and describes it as around 40°C at the nozzle, not hot steam. The manual’s specification table lists 110 watts and up to 24 hours per tank, without dividing runtime by warm/cool setting. It also lists up to 500 square feet and noise below 35 dB(A). Those are maker-supplied limits, not measurements from this review. If the expected warm-mist output rate is essential, the manual provides no milliliters-per-hour rating.

Resolve the version conflict before you rely on tank size

Crane’s product page identifies the model as a 1.2-gallon tank and links two manuals labeled as newer and older versions. The older 2021 guide says 1.2 gallons; the newer 2025 manual for a black unit specifies 1 gallon / 4 liters. Both give up to 24 hours and up to 500 square feet, but they describe different controls. The old guide includes a Baby mode and UV-light and ionizer functions. The newer guide’s panel and features instead describe Sleep, Auto, selected humidity and warm-mist controls, without those older Baby/UV/ionizer modes. This assessment uses the new manual for the current operating plan and does not carry older-version functions forward.

Because the exact page continues to link both revisions, a buyer looking at an offer should check the model label and supplied instructions before treating either capacity as certain. We leave the tank-size fact unknown: it cannot meet a strict 4.1-liter minimum in the questionnaire when the sources disagree. This is a specification conflict, not a doubt that the page’s EE-6913 identity matches the model family.

Aroma-pad use and the filter distinction

The newer manual identifies a separate aroma tray with a pad and says not to pour essential oils into the tank or base. That is a clear separation between fragrance and water. It also lists a ceramic filter and a HEPA filter used for air passing through the appliance. The manual expressly says the HEPA part does not make the EE-6913 an air purifier for an entire room. Avoid treating that component as a substitute for a room air cleaner or as evidence that the unit has been independently tested for air quality.

Daily emptying and air-drying of the tank and base, weekly vinegar cleaning and ceramic-filter care after every thirty fills or when dirty make this a more involved choice than a simple ultrasonic bowl. The warm-water path and filters add steps. No exact dishwasher-safe components are identified in the newer manual, so assume hand cleaning unless the instructions supplied with a verified offer say otherwise. Use fresh cool water in the tank, keep oils out of it, and do not move the appliance while full.

Who should compare it—and what the alternatives change

The EE-6913 is the Crane to compare if warm and cool options, a target mode, remote and aroma pad all matter. The EE-6917 is a cool-only tower with a documented 8-liter tank and a water-tank UV-A feature, but it does not supply a room-area rating in its reviewed evidence. The EE-6909 is simpler: cool mist, two levels and a larger single stated 1.2-gallon capacity than many compact models, but it lacks a timer and humidity control and has its own direct-oil wording conflict. Which is preferable depends on whether heat, tank certainty, large capacity, cleaning simplicity or automated control is essential.

Choose the EE-6913 for its documented newer warm/cool control plan only if the particular version is confirmed and its care routine suits you. Do not rely on a 1.2-gallon claim, old-version Baby mode, UV or ionizer for a current offer without checking its label and guide. This is a source-based assessment of Crane’s exact product page and both linked model manuals, not an ownership report, health recommendation or independent room test.

Key details at a glance

Maker-stated room-area range500 sq ft maximum
Maker-stated runtime wordingThe newer manual lists up to 24 hours; the older 2021 manual also lists up to 24 hours, without setting-specific runtime.
Top-fill designYes
On-device controlsOn-device buttons and display
Automatic humidity adjustmentYes
Phone app controlNo
More specifications and setup details
Manufacturer-documented oil routeSeparate aroma pad
Essential oils permitted in the water tank by this manualNo
Maker-documented color-changing tank lightNo
Separate aroma-pad routeYes
Heated warm-mist modeYes
Included physical handheld remoteYes
Listed power rating110 W
Humidification methodUltrasonic
Selectable humidistat targetYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Manufacturer noise claim

Both manuals list below 35 dB(A); manufacturer figures without independent measurement conditions.

Manufacturer cleaning interval

Empty the tank and base daily and air-dry; weekly vinegar cleaning. Clean/activate the ceramic-ball filter after every 30 tank fills or when dirty per the newer manual. HEPA/filter details are not an air-cleaning promise for a room.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the real routine.

Compare water capacity, fill design, humidity controls and the care instructions for the exact model.