Model assessment · Crane

Crane EE-6917 2-Gallon Cool-Mist Tower Humidifier review

A tall 8-liter top-fill ultrasonic cool-mist unit with an adjustable humidity target, handheld remote, timer, sleep/display control and a germicidal UV-A lamp in the water tank. The manual specifies 250 mL/h ±15% output; the manufacturer page claims up to 48 hours, but the manual does not assign that runtime to a setting or list a room-area maximum. Essential oils belong in the separate pad tray, not the water.

Sources checked 2026-10-26 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Crane Tower Cool Mist Ee6917 full-unit humidifier as shown on the exact Crane USA product page.

Crane EE-6917 exact full-unit tower product-page image; photo/render status unspecified. Crane does not state whether the image is a photograph or a render.

Image source and model notes
Crane EE-6917 exact full-unit tower product-page image; photo/render status unspecified. Crane does not state whether the image is a photograph or a render. Crane EE-6917 exact full-unit tower product-page image; photo/render status unspecified.
A useful fit for

A match for a household that wants a sizeable top-fill cool-mist tower, a real percentage target and remote-operated controls rather than a simple dial. The manual’s 8 L reservoir and 250 mL/h output help explain the design, while the page’s “up to 48 hours” is a maximum claim and does not guarantee days of unattended use. There is no sourced square-foot figure here, so it cannot pass a hard area requirement.

The main tradeoff

Choose it for humidistat control, not as a warm-mist or smart-home product. It offers three mist levels, a 40–80% setpoint, 1–12-hour timer, sleep/display controls, a separate aroma pad and a UV-A lamp the maker says helps reduce germs in tank water. That lamp is not a promise of sterile water, room-air disinfection or health benefit; the manual still requires daily emptying and regular vinegar cleaning. Essential oils, medications and salt are not allowed in the tank. The 400 nm lamp also comes with an explicit eye-exposure warning; switch off before opening or cleaning.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is the exact 8 L reservoir sufficient for your minimum?

The 2025 manual specifies 8 L / about 2 U.S. gallons; this is maker-listed capacity, not a refill measurement.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require an exact-manual UV-A water-tank light?

The manual lists a 400 nm germicidal UV-A light in the tank. This is a manufacturer feature statement, not a sterilization promise.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a settable humidity target important?

The exact page identifies a 40–80% setpoint. A displayed humidity figure is not independent calibration.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want the separate aroma pad and not oil mixed into the water?

The manual directs oil to the separate aroma pad and prohibits adding essential oils to the water tank.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would a cool-mist ultrasonic tower suit you if heat is not essential?

The manual identifies ultrasonic cool-mist output; it does not document warm mist.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can a large tank substitute for a documented room-area rating?

The page and manual do not state a square-foot coverage figure. If the area minimum is optional, the ultrasonic model remains a fit; an essential numeric room-area threshold must fail while unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Crane EE-6917 is a top-fill, 8-liter ultrasonic cool-mist tower with a digital humidity target, handheld remote, timer and a separate aroma pad. Crane’s manual gives a mist rate of 250 mL per hour with a stated ±15% range and a 28-watt rating. The product page claims up to 48 hours, but the manual does not provide a setting-specific runtime or a maximum room-area figure. This model suits a buyer who values controls and reservoir capacity over a documented square-foot fit or warm mist.

Control is the main reason to choose this tower

The EE-6917 gives you more than an on/off switch and a mist selector. Its panel reports humidity, and the exact Crane product page lists a selectable 40–80% range. The manual describes three mist levels, a sleep option and a timer that can be set from one to twelve hours. The included remote operates the unit’s functions, which is useful when the tower is in a spot where reaching its control panel is inconvenient. These features make it a different proposition from the simpler EE-6909: you can set a humidity target or time limit rather than leaving the mist running only at a manually chosen level.

Still, a display is not the same thing as a calibrated room measurement, and a target setting does not guarantee that every corner of a room reaches that humidity. Crane’s page says up to 48 hours, but the manual’s specifications instead emphasize an 8-liter tank and rated mist output. Runtime will depend on settings and conditions; do not plan on precisely two days between fills from the page’s maximum. Most importantly, neither the reviewed page nor the model manual supplies a square-foot coverage limit. If a documented minimum room-area figure is essential, leave this model off that shortlist until Crane provides one.

UV-A and aroma are separate features—not tank additives

The exact page and manual describe a germicidal UV-A lamp in the water tank. Crane says the light helps reduce germs in the tank; that is not a guarantee of sterile water, purified room air or a health outcome. The manual identifies a 400-nanometer UV-A source and warns against looking directly at the illuminated bulb. Turn the unit off before opening it for filling or cleaning, and continue the maker’s water-change and cleaning routine even if you use the light.

The second special feature is a separate aroma tray. The manual directs users to put essential oil on the included pad and explicitly says not to add oils, medication or salt to the tank. That route may suit someone who wants scent without mixing it into water, but it also means the oil tray is not a room fragrance performance guarantee. Keep it distinct from the humidification path, and follow the page’s compatible-pad instructions.

Large capacity comes with a real cleaning routine

Eight liters is substantial for a home tower, but a large reservoir does not remove daily care. Crane says to empty water from both the tank and base each day, allow parts to dry, and clean weekly with vinegar. The manual warns against leaving stagnant water and says hard water can contribute to mineral buildup; filtered or distilled water is suggested where mineral content is high. No dishwasher-safe parts are identified in the reviewed manual, so do not assume removable components can go in a dishwasher. The appliance needs a level, water-resistant, non-wood surface with the base vent unobstructed, and its mist should be aimed away from walls, children and electronics.

Crane calls the design a tower, but the reviewed manual does not establish dimensions. Check the actual unit and the location around its vent before deciding where it will sit. The manual lists 120 volts and 28 watts. The page’s 48-hour claim, UV language and control features should not be mistaken for an independent performance test.

When another Crane configuration is a better fit

The EE-6917 is cool-mist only; it does not offer a heated mode. If warm and cool choices matter more than a confirmed tank size, the EE-6913 is the relevant comparison: its current linked manual describes both modes, a remote and a selectable humidity range, though Crane’s product page and its newer and older manuals do not agree on reservoir capacity. For simpler cool mist with explicitly dishwasher-safe upper parts, the EE-6909 has a smaller 1.2-gallon manual-listed reservoir and no target control. Neither substitute should be selected for a hard area claim unless its own evidence fits the room.

Choose the EE-6917 if you want an 8-liter top-fill tower, target-based humidity control, remote, timer, UV-A water-tank lamp and pad-only aromatherapy in a cool-mist appliance. Choose something else if warm mist, app control, an essential-oil-in-water route, confirmed dishwasher-safe parts or a published coverage threshold is non-negotiable. The assessment relies on Crane’s exact page and linked EE-6917 U.S. manual; no independent room testing or ownership is implied.

Key details at a glance

UV water-treatment stageYes
Water-tank capacity8 L
Water-tank capacity2 US gal
Maker-stated runtime wordingExact product page claims up to 48 hours; exact manual gives no setting-specific runtime. Treat 48 hours as the manufacturer’s maximum claim, not a refill guarantee.
Top-fill designYes
On-device controlsOn-device buttons and display
More specifications and setup details
Automatic humidity adjustmentYes
Phone app controlNo
Manufacturer-documented oil routeSeparate aroma pad
Essential oils permitted in the water tank by this manualNo
Maker-documented color-changing tank lightYes
Separate aroma-pad routeYes
Heated warm-mist modeNo
Included physical handheld remoteYes
Manufacturer-listed dimensions (axis order not labeled)Tower form shown; no verified dimension measurement recorded for this review.
Listed power rating28 W
Humidification methodUltrasonic
Selectable humidistat targetYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Manufacturer cleaning interval

Empty tank and base daily, rinse and dry removable water-contact parts; weekly vinegar cleaning per the exact manual. Change the aroma pad when changing oils. Manual does not establish dishwasher-safe parts.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the real routine.

Compare water capacity, fill design, humidity controls and the care instructions for the exact model.